Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Feb 11, 2007, 11:38 AM   #1

I am totally new to Digital Photography, so please bare with me:?. I am shopping for a memory card for my new Fujifilm F650. I have noticed that Fuji and Olympus appear to use the same card. Would a 2 Gig Olympus be compatable with the Fujifilm F650 or must I purchase a card made exclusively for the F650? The Olympus card seems to be a little less expencive. Thank you!
tjcnok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2007, 1:11 PM   #2

If the F650 is compatible with a 2 GB xD card, then it won't matter which brand you use.

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2007, 10:05 AM   #3

But !
Depending on where you live Fuji doesn't sell the type H cards.
Here in the USA only Olympus has the type H cards (faster).

Also there are cards made and marketed by 3rd party companies that have the Olympus logo.

madecov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2007, 11:17 AM   #4

Both Fuji and Olympus branded cards are available with the "H" or "M" designation, up to 1 GB. Currently, the 2 GB cards are only available with the "M" designation, both in the Fuji and Olympus brand. I have both Fuji and Olympus branded xD cards, and all are made by Samsung.

[The following links are provided as photographic evidence to support the above statements only, and in no way represent the author's recommendation to use the affiliated merchant.]

http://www.amazon.com/1GB-Xd-Picture...=UTF8&s=pc

http://www.amazon.com/Sandisk-xD-Typ...=UTF8&s=pc

the Hun

Old Feb 13, 2007, 6:40 AM   #5

Ok, Thanks a bunch folks! That is exactly what I was needing to know.
tjcnok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2007, 3:49 PM   #6

rinniethehun wrote:
Quote: