Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old May 8, 2007, 8:22 AM   #1

Hello a new member who has just purchased a D200 and now needs to purchase some compact flash memory. Looking at Sandisk Extreme IV and Extreme III. There is a difference in price so was wondering if the write/read speed of the IV card is worthwhile. I am a beginner so still learning to use the camera so not yet into RAW whatever that means.

Amy advice would be greatly appreciated - don't want to waste my money. Thanks

Hal174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2007, 10:20 AM   #2

Probably the best website with empirical data on the speeds of different CF and SD Cards is on the Rob Galbraith Digital Photography Insights website.

Here's the link to his Nikon D200 Write Speed:

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/mul...?cid=6007-8197

It includes test results for both the SanDisk Extreme III and IV CF cards.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2007, 5:29 PM   #3

Thank you for your reply, the web site looked very interesting. It looks as if the 8 Meg Extreme III card would be my best value for money here in the UK. My only question now is that the site selling the Sandisk cards states that this 8M card Extreme III is suitable only for Fat 32 cameras. What does that mean and will it work with the Nikon D200. - Thanks
Old May 8, 2007, 7:09 PM   #4

"FAT" refers to the "File Allocation Table" which is how the operating system keeps track of where files are stored on the storage medium. There are 2 versions of FAT: FAT 16 which uses 16 bit addresses, and FAT 32 which uses 32 bit addresses. A storage medium that uses FAT16 has a practical limit of 4 gigabytes of space, while a storage medium that uses FAT32 has a practical limit of 32 gigabytes of space (though FAT32 can be used for larger volumes by adjusting the cluster size.)