Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Aug 11, 2003, 3:52 PM   #1
MEP

Default Card-reader advice needed

Hi!

I'm an experienced photographer, but still quite new to the digital domain. I've been using my Fuji Finepix 602 with good results for a couple of months now, but since purchasing and using a generic 6 way USB card-reader, I've experienced (and I see I'm not alone!) the dreaded 'Card Error' problem(s) with my Samsung 128mb SM cards.

Weirdly, the cards seem to work ok during photography, but when I review my pix, odd ones come up with 'Read Error' messages. Sometimes it's about 1 in 4 or 5 pix, sometimes more, sometimes less.

After downloading, using the card-reader / winXP / FinePix Viewer, I've tried (in the camera) deleting and re-formatting the cards. This seems to have worked...

My question - is there a specific procedure to follow using the card-reader? Should it be disconnected from the USB during insertion / removal of the SM card, or does this not matter? How do I avoid the card-reader messing with my cards?

All help gratefully received!!

MEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2003, 5:35 PM   #2

First you have to find out if the pic on the card is being corrupted, or is it a copy of the file saved to your HD?. If the image on the card is being corrupted this is more serious. With SM you can stop it by putting on the little tab, before putting it in the reader. Then you must only COPY from the card.

Nothing should get written to it. I only use Explorer (not the Fuji junk). I drag the images to my HD, making sure the icon has the little plus sign (That's a COPY and not a MOVE).