Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Aug 12, 2007, 10:15 PM   #1

I've been using an Olympus C-770 for 3 years, just got an E-410. I'm generally pro Olympus, but the XD card gives me problems I NEVER encounter with SD or CF. I've used 3 different card readers on two different computers (Windows 2000 and XP). Sometimes it won't read at all, sometimes VERY slow to read, sometimes a picture or two will be corrupted - the bottom half missing, or digitally jumbled. It leads me to believe there's something inherently 'unstable' or 'Hinky' with the XD 'platform'. Thank goodness my new E-410 has a slot for CF as well.It doesn't happen all the time, just enough that I can't trust the XD with important pics. (and every pic is POTENTIALLY important)

In the C-770, I never used larger than 128 meg, and it occurs less with that,than with this new 512 card in the E-410.

Dadders6, Dallas, tx
dadders6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 13, 2007, 8:18 PM   #2

Some people have a problem with CF cards:

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/fo...mp;forum_id=52

Some people have a problem with SD cards:

Some people think they have a problem with xD cards:

I've never had a problem with an xD card.

Maybe your computer is a little 'Hinky"?

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2007, 9:05 AM   #3

We have 300 Stylus cameras and I've had no reported problems with the xD cards. We use three different readers on XP notebooks.
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2007, 9:39 PM   #4

The bottom line is simply this, folks: The XD chip is not the very best solution, at all. However, as slow as it is, it does work. So in my opinion, we will have to struggle onward with all its faults.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2007, 12:20 PM   #5