Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Sep 4, 2003, 1:29 PM   #1

Default Is a reader the same as a reader/writer

I'm new to this...
Are all CF card readers, writers as well?
I want to be able to download pics, edit them, and upload back to the card to get them printed at the local camera shop. Is this a basic function of this type of media, like a disk drive?

Thanks,
Ti3m
Ti3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2003, 10:25 PM   #2
Administrator

Yes, any relatively new card reader can be used to read or write to/from the memory card. They appear as a removable drive and you can copy, move or delete files using Windows Explorer.

-Steve
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2003, 11:34 PM   #3

If your computer supports it, make sure its USB2. The speed advantage is HUGE over USB1.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2003, 10:12 AM   #4

Default USB1 or 2

How can I tell if my computer supports USB2?

If it only supports USB1 and I buy a USB2 reader will the reader work at the USB1 speed until I upgrade my computer system?
Ti3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2003, 2:09 PM   #5

USB2 devices are backwards compatable, so they should still work.

As to how to tell.... I'm not exactly sure.