Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Dec 18, 2007, 5:29 PM   #1

Next January my company is sending me on a week long trip to the coffee growing highlands of Mexico to capture high res images of coffee production from seedlings to finished product. I'm just an enthusiastic amateur but have shot enough great photos for the company over the years with my Nikon D1x that one of my collateral duties has become that of unofficial corporate paparazzi. When I asked how the images were to be used to get some idea of what resolution they were looking for I was told "Pretend each one is going to be used as a poster in the executive boardroom."

No pressure!

I pointed out that the D1x is only a 5 megapixel camera. No problem; they bought me a new D80 body! Of course all my lenses fit, so I'm pleased as can be. But the flash cards I have for the D1x don't fit, so I need new memory. I was thinking of getting four 4GB cards, figuring 16GM ought to do me just fine, but there are so many other options out there in the form of digital storage devices with a card reader built in and a big LCD on front that maybe I ought to get one of those and a pair of 2GB cards.

I'd never run out of room with 40GB to play with, but are they worth the $$$?
Boondox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 18, 2007, 5:36 PM   #2

I suspect that you'll have a laptop with you as well. (If you hadn't planned on it, I suggest you do.) Why not just bring along a card reader? ... or two?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2007, 5:43 PM   #3

TCav wrote:
Quote:
I suspect that you'll have a laptop with you as well. (If you hadn't planned on it, I suggest you do.) Why not just bring along a card reader? ... or two?
Sorry, should have mentioned that. No laptops. No computer access for the entire week. This is basically a week trip along rough backcountry roads with camera and a couple changes of clothing.