Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Sep 23, 2003, 6:05 AM   #1

Default CF or Smartmedia

I know this subject has probably been visited several times previously. But I am new to Digital photography and I'm in the process of purchasing a Fuji S602. This comes with a 16mb sm card but I intend to purchase a 128mb card, of which variety I know not.

Helpppppppppppppp
bigal 42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 23, 2003, 8:26 AM   #2

Smartmedia is a limited lifespan product as of last year with the introduction of xD. xD was joint developed by Olympus/Fuji to replace SM. SM had some real design limitations in capacity and fragility. you should be able to use xD in your 602 with an adapter from fuji/olympus(Olympus P/N MACF-10) which fits in of all things the CF slot.
CF on the other hand is still the defacto standard of the industry. especially on high end cameras. it is faster in most cases, more robust, and has gone well beyond the capacities of other form factors as of today. it also seems to have reasonable room to grow in its design. CF cards currently top out at a commercial available size of 4GB(type 2 form factor) with 6+GB in engineering packaging(not commercially available). your camera will take CF type 1 and 2. the difference between the two is the thickness. type 2 being a little thicker. CF offers the highest versatility of all the form factors availability today.
here is an excellent reference on design and manufacturers:

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/mul...e.asp?cid=6007
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2003, 5:57 AM   #3