Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Aug 10, 2008, 1:50 PM   #1

Hello,
i'm desperately trying to recover 3 weeks worth of beautiful shots taken around asheville NC/Appalachians .

i'm not a professional photographer,as indicated by this maneuver i did to transfer my pictures....its how i've always doen it without a problem.

i Cut and pasted to my pc, not realizing the battery life was low,and that i'd grabbed some large video files which were makign things take a lot longer to x-fer.
the batt died during the transfer and screwed up my card somehow,im guessing because of the Stupid cut/paste, but sheesh i'd think thered be some protection inherent in the card or pc to not messup partition from that common of a task???

now i get "no card" messages, card not formatted, partition not found etc...
been trying various data recover applications. some worked at getting soem things,but the jpgs arent viewable in windows or anything, and they also turned the MOV files into still jpg's ?plus theres all of a sudden a bunch of exe's and swf files which never existed?maybe were hidden or osmething,part of cards formatting?

for now on i'll definitely use a card-reader that doesnt require a battery..,,im slightly annoyed that my camera (waterproof/submersible" Pentax optio w30") doesnt charge thru the usb like my old olympus camedia did i think..

if anyone has soem suggestions PLEASE do speak up,
in the mean time i'll continue searching the archives on this forum, seems like a great resource! ,jsut getting stircrazy/punchy from allt he reading,installing,uninstalling,failed attempts etc etc etc the past 2 full days.
tribalwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 10, 2008, 4:16 PM   #2
Administrator

It's usually a bad idea to use cut and paste, since the "cut" part writes to the card (when you delete, it has to update the file allocation table entries).