Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Oct 12, 2003, 5:53 PM   #1

Default Quick question about CF card

Hi,
Newbie here. Just got a Canon A70 camera that came with 16 MB CF card. I would like to upgrade the CF with at least 128 MB. How does non-OEM brands like Sandisk and Lexar compare to canon brand ones? Sorry if this question has been answered before. TIA.
▀illcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2003, 7:49 PM   #2

I have Lexar and Viking CF cards, but my preference is for the Lexar because it seems just a tad faster. You can use any brand, but I suggest reading up on them, looking for reliability and speed. Darned if I can remember where I saw just such a review. Maybe someone else here knows where to find it.
bcoultry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2003, 3:03 PM   #3

Bill Collector, I know ther is a site called robgalbraith.com that will let you know about what CF cards are good for pro cameras. I am not sure where to find info on the A-70. I always call www.mydigitaldiscount.com when i need memory. They are pretty informative and have good prices to boot. I recently purchased a 128mb DAne- elec card
Skewter30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2003, 11:57 PM   #4

Just got 256 mb Fuji film card for $44. Have been pretty happy so far. I can't believe I can take 159 pictures on high-res mode!!!

I highly recommend the CF upgrade for those considering it.
▀illcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2003, 9:53 AM   #5

Here is that link about CF. It is for high end cards, but it also has information about CF in general. It's a good read, and it really drives home the fact that the camera has as much to do with a card being fast as the card its self.

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/mul...e.asp?cid=6007

The odds are that the "Canon" CF cards are really a rebranded version of someone elses CF card.