Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Nov 26, 2008, 5:53 PM   #1

Guys,
I am looking to buying a new xD memory card for my Olympus SP-350.
Once I started using this camera I got a 1GB Type-H since it was the faster at the time. Now I see there is a type M+ and that Type-H is discontinued. But can still be found on ebay.
I looked online but didn't find any real comparison between the 2 different types as far as write speeds go.

Which one writes faster, type-h ot type-m+ ?

Thanks so much and have a good thaksgiving!
skuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2008, 5:58 PM   #2

I have no experience with M+ but can tell you that the H cards are faster than the plain M cards. At the time the H series cards were brought out the M card was the fast card and the no letter cards were the normal speed cards. I have a Fuji S9100 as a backup camera now and have a 1GB H series card loaded and it works fine for me but the 133x CF card in it is much faster shot to shot.....

I'd be very carefully getting memory cartds off ebay as has been documented on this message board many times before a lot ofmemory cards on ebay are fakes and you have to make sure your really getting what your paying for. I remember reading here that some of the cards off ebay didn't even work and other only captures 1GB but were rated for 8GB. Always by memory cards fro a reliable dealr like bhphotosvideo, newegg etc..... I have found that newegg has the best memory card prices lately.

dave
Photo 5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2008, 6:08 PM   #3

Quote:
133x CF card
What card is that?

My olympus only takes xD cards if I am not mistaken.

I read somewhere one guy saying the H writes RAW images faster than the M+. But another guy said he can format his M+ much faster than a H. Not sure if it indicated anything.

Thanks
Old Nov 26, 2008, 8:03 PM   #4