Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Oct 31, 2003, 3:18 PM   #1

Default Sandisk "Extreme" CF and "RescuePRO"

I have never used a digital camera before and just purchased an Canon Powershot A80. I will be gettting a couple of 256MB CF cards. I figure I will try two different brands so I can compare performance and reliability. I will try one Lexar 256MB card ($52.95 at B&H) and the other card I am considering is a Sandisk 256MB card ($51.95 @ B&H). My question is: Sandisk also has an “Sandisk Extreme Compact Flash Card”($89.95) which comes with “RescuePRO” data recovery software. The card states a write speed of 9MB per second and a read spead of 10MB/second. Is it worth getting the “Extreme” card for my A80, or is it really only designed for “high-end” digital cameras? I see the “RescuePRO” software selling for $40 seperately, so there would be some savings buying the “Extreme” card.
Thank you.
jmphotoart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 1, 2003, 12:08 AM   #2

A few things.

Those throughput numbers are theoretical. No camera can write that fast, so it doesn’t matter if the card can be written to that fast.

Second, the A80 is not a high end camera. Any card over around 12x or so is probably wasted because the camera (probably) can’t write faster than that. Since there are no hard numbers available, you need to track down a web site which tests this camera (and they needs to be well done tests with good, consistent methodology. In other words, this is very hard, if not impossible to find.)