Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Dec 4, 2003, 3:06 PM   #1

Default CF or MicroDrive

Hi,
I'm just about to change from my Kodak DC4800 to a Canon EOS 300D, I just want to ask whether I should get a 1Gb microdrive or a Compact Flash. I have no experience of the MD but it seems to be recommended.

I have searched the 'net but can't seem to find a non sales-based review comparing similarly sized CF and MD and giving a pros and cons of each.

All advice greatfully received.
T0M0S is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2003, 5:31 PM   #2

The major advantage of the microdrive is price, its disadvantage is less durability - though I think that is overstated. Another problem with the microdrive is altitude - it uses air as a lubricant so cannot be used above 10,000ft/3,000m.

Take a serious look at the price of each, and decide on that basis.

Having a big chunk of memory is really nice, esp if you plan to shoot RAW. One big chunk is better than a bunch of little ones - you don't have to fumble about swithing them. Also, it seems pretty much all memory damage (rare) comes from handling so the less handling, the less problems.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2003, 8:04 PM   #3
NHL

FYI

1G IBM Microdrive for $168 (free shipping!)
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2003, 11:09 PM   #4

NHL- why did i know you'd show up here.
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2003, 1:49 AM   #5

Thanks for all that, very uselful. However does anyone have the actual read/write experience/data for both types. ??
Old Dec 5, 2003, 5:59 AM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by T0M0S
Thanks for all that, very uselful. However does anyone have the actual read/write experience/data for both types. ??
If you mean speed, that will depend on the camera as much as the kind of memory/microdrive. There are some time comparisons in the detailed reviews at dpReview.