Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Dec 9, 2010, 2:24 PM   #1

Default New Camera/New SDHC Card

I am new to digital photograpy and just got a new Canon Rebel T2i as a Christmas gift. I picked up a San Disk SDHC card 4 GB because it was on sale. Should I have gotten one with more memory? Is there anything I need to do to the card before taking pictures? I have been skimming through various posts and see that there are differences in cards such as "Class". What does that mean?

Last edited by CBeck; Dec 9, 2010 at 2:36 PM.
CBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2010, 2:57 PM   #2

You should format it IN the camera. There will be a little letter C on the face with a number in it. If it's a 10, you're current. anything less is slower. The number indicates continuous WRITE speed in MB/sec. Card manufacturers always advertise READ speed which is not so important in this application.

Mostly it won't matter but video or raw burst might be better with a class 10. that's what your next card should be. more GB is better to a point. 16GB will probably hold all you want to in one session. realize that the more you have saved ONLY on the card, the more you have to lose. that's why most recommend using 8GB or so when on vacation trips. switching cards will minimize your losses if something happens to one.
frank-in-toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 10:26 PM   #3