Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Aug 26, 2002, 8:56 AM   #1

Default Microdrive, time to buy, looking for advice.

Hi,
The time has come to order our 1 GB Microdrive, but what do we need to buy for our 7i. I see travel kits, road warrior kits, adapters, etc. I plan on going with the Lexar firewire reader unless something else has come along, can I just get the drive itself?
Also, who has the best price? I would prefer the Iomega brand (I know it's the IBM repackeged), because I know their service, which is excellent, I have no experience with IBM. I hope to order it today, so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks to everyone for all the help.
Todd
PS, How many pics should I expect to fit on a 1G drive in Superfine or RAW?
Upalms is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 26, 2002, 9:11 AM   #2

If you're doing a lot of travel, I would recomend you buy few of the CF 256 meg, I do not like the microdrive that much because it doesn't deal verywell with shock, and it also drain your power very fast, and it may not work with some digicams. I did not recommend you to buy the new 512 meg or 1 gig CF because their prices are still high, the price of 256 meg CF is very reasonable right now, you can get them for less than $100 a piece, good features, shock resistance, and comparable with all current readers and digicams.
tuanokc@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2002, 9:15 AM   #3
NHL

660 has been reported for jpeg, so divide that number by 4 for RAW or 7 for Superfine (BTW this mode is inefficient with the camera, get tiff from the PC), but it all depends on the content of the picture and you can get a little more or a little less!

As for shocks it's designed for it, and will survive a drop (I can't say the same about the camera...