Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Aug 6, 2004, 10:42 PM   #1

I deleted some photos from my compact flash card and want to try and recover them. Has anyone here used the program from Germany called Digital image recovery from a website called Happy Foto? I think I got the link from this site but i wanted to make sure it was legit before I downloaded it. I get a little nervous downloading from sites I don't really know.

Thanks!

Pam
tolpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 6, 2004, 11:38 PM   #2

keep it simple. just download photorescue try it and then buy it. it is simply the best one out there. it will be the best $30 you spent.

http://www.datarescue.com/photorescue/

i've been using it now for about 3 years.
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2004, 8:06 AM   #3
Administrator

tolpuppy wrote:
Quote:
I deleted some photos from my compact flash card and want to try and recover them. Has anyone here used the program from Germany called Digital image recovery from a website called Happy Foto? I think I got the link from this site but i wanted to make sure it was legit before I downloaded it. I get a little nervous downloading from sites I don't really know.
Yes, Pam. The freeware program you're looking at is a very good one. I've recommended often to users. It's in a .zip file, so you must use pkunzip.exe, winzip, or another package capable of extracting the .exe file to install it. If you don't have one of these, you can download a fully functional trial version of winzip from here:

http://www.winzip.com/downwzeval.htm

After you install Digital Image Recovery, you can select English as the Language when you start it. You then give it the drive letter for your media (your camera or card reader must show up as a removable drive for these types of packages to work).