Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Nov 20, 2004, 10:24 AM   #1

I have a problem. I took a few pictures on my Canon G2 with a ScanDisk Compact Flash card. I have been doing this for 3 years without a problem. This card is about a year old. You can view the phots on the screen in the camera, but when trying to download on a Windows computer a message saying the folder can not be read is shown. When trying to plug the camera directly into a Mac computer the photos do not get downloaded either. The computer just says "working" and it never works. Is there a way to retrieve this data???
sgalfano is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2004, 10:56 AM   #2
Administrator

If your camera can show up as a removable drive via a USB connection to your Windows PC, then youshould be able torecover the images. If it doesn't show up as a removable drive, then you'll need to buy a card reader (very inexpensive). I can't help you with Macsoftware (although I'm sure someone makes image recovery software for Mac).

That's the key (getting the card to show up as a removable drive). Then, you can use any number of image recovery programs to recover the images.

Here is a free one:

You'll see the dowload link in the first message in this German Forum to a free program called Digital Image Recovery:

http://www.foto-erhardt.de/foto-forum/viewtopic.php?t=2690

It's a .zip file, so you'll need Winzip to extract the installation file. If you don't have it already, you can download a working eval version of Winzip from here:

http://www.winzip.com/ddchomea.htm

The program will let you select English as a language. As long as your camera appears as a removal drive; simply select the drive letter for your camera as the source drive, then select a folder on your PC as the destination (you'll see a browse button to select a folder).