Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Jan 12, 2005, 4:32 PM   #1

Dear Friends,

How nice to find this forum-hope somebody can help me.

I am a fairly experienced 35mm photographer who recently bit the bullet and bought a Fuji FinePix S7000 and Fuji 256mb CF card a few months ago.

Alas....despite successfully taking some smashing shots my camera (or Card) has proved completely unreliable.......

After taking a few shots and switching to 'preview' the camera camera returns a read error followed by the message 'Card not Initialised'.

All data is lost;both recent and stored.

I reformat the card as per instructions but at some point the error reccurs....sometimes after just a handful of shots and sometimes after several dozen. Maddening!!

I cannot reproduce any consistent circumstances that will produce the error on demand. The batteries are always charged and the card is never full.

I cannot retrieve anything either via the cameras USB connection or the card reader I have.

Ideally I suppose I should buy another similar capacity card and see if the same fault occurs but at £30-40 a throw I wonder whether I am throwing money at a dead camera?

Perhaps I am doing something wrong?

Sorry-I seem to be stuck on italics!

Perhaps I am sometimes turning to preview before the camera has finished writing or something similar ;although I would imagine that there would be some kind of buffer that would prevent this being catastrophic?

The camera is everything I could wish for so you can imagine my disappointment.

In the end I will have to send the whole kit/caboodle back to Fuji I suppose, but could I ever trust it again??

Hope somebody can advise me?

Yrs Sadly

Flo

floricicia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2005, 5:44 PM   #2

Hi Floricicia,

Welcome to the forum

Sorry to hear of your misfortune.

All may not be lost.

Send a PM (click on No New Messages) at top right of page to:

JimC