Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Dec 8, 2002, 11:17 AM   #1

Default PCMCIA Card or Card Reader?

Hi all,

I am a newbie to digital photography and have just received my first camera (Olympus C730). Extremely please so far. Currently I am deciding between buying a card reader or the PCMCIA card for the olympus xD format. I don't have the budget to buy both.

Some pros and cons I have kinda derive so far.

PCMCIA
Pros
-Portable
-Transfer Speed (Is it much faster than card readers?)
Cons
-Price (more expensive)
-can only be used on a notebooks

Card Reader
Pros
-Price (Slightly Cheaper)
-Can be used both on PC and Notebooks
Cons
-Speed?
-Slightly bigger?

Currently, I am transferring the pictures directly from the camera. If there are no real apparent benefits of any of the devices above, I may as well just stick to my current practice.

Cheers!
Vincent
Vincentan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 8, 2002, 12:20 PM   #2

Quote:
If there are no real apparent benefits of any of the devices above, I may as well just stick to my current practice.
Ask in the forum for your specific camera. With some cameras there is a large increase in speed by using a reader/PCMCIA, with others - little or none. If there is no speed increase, I'd suggest using your money to buy and AC adapter - it really isn't good to have the power fail while downloading pictures. The AC adapter is also usefull for tethered/studio shots as well as being cheaper.

I am convinced that most problems with memory are a result of handling. If you are carefull, problems are rare in any case so that isn't a real big issue, but the fewer chances for things to wrong, the less problems.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2002, 2:06 PM   #3

You can check special offer bundle. Very often, they sell a CF card with a USB reader/writer or a PCMCIA adapter alsmost "free", so I guess they will do the same with xD cards ?