Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Apr 15, 2005, 9:18 PM   #1

I have been lookng at the Epson 2000, storage device to download photos to from my cards. I have a Canon 20d and need something battery operated and small to store photos on while in the field.
Does anyone have experience with the Epson or other devices.

Thanks,
Golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2005, 11:18 PM   #2

Hi Golfer. How's it swinging ?

I have no experience with these units but I would suggest you think about what you want from one of them and check Steve's reviews of some alternative machines here, http://www.steves-digicams.com/digi_...s.html#storage

The Epson P-2000 is not the cheapest but I have seen good reviews of it, although on searching they seem to be not as readily available right now. Amazon.com don't have them anymore for example.

What I mean about knowing what you want is that the P-2000 let's you view your images on an LCD, just like your camera does. Are you with me so far ? Do you really feel the need to look at your images again on a fairly small screen after you have looked at them on a fairly small screen (your camera) ? Other machines also offer this facility but usually at a premium. Some have the ability to play music files, again with additional uses such as this, it will likely cost more. If I were to buy one I would be happy with something that gave me a clear indication that transfer was taking place, and then that it had ended the process. I wouldn't want to view my pictures on one, I would do that on the computer when I got home, or checked and deleted the iffy ones before transferring them.

The Vosonic X'S range of portable drives are very popular and they anda number of otherportable devices allow you to put your own hard drive in them. They all pretty much take a lap top size hard drive.

Hope this helps,

Stevekin.
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote