Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Dec 17, 2002, 11:13 PM   #1

Default CF ignorance...

Ok, I'm new to the digital scene. So all this talk about SmartMedia and Compact Flash is all over my head. Instead of asking all my questions at once, I'll stick with a batch of simple related questions:

What are the differences (other than size) in the different CF cards? How can I tell the difference when I see them on the rack? Should I believe the speed ratings on the cards (or should I only trust a combination of speed/manufacturer.)

Thanks for the info in advance. I've learned a lot by lurking here, you all are a very knowledgeable (and friendly) bunch.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 18, 2002, 12:24 AM   #2

They are like beta and VHS. They do the same thing. Compact Flash uses a controller built into the card and therefore if you buy cheaper cards they tend to be slower. Smartmedia, Multmedia card (MMC), Secure Digital (SD), Xd, and Memory stick are the others. They all use controllers built into the camera. There should be no speed difference betwwen any of these from one brand to another.

The basic thing is that different brand cameras use different cards. I wouldn't worry too much about what card a camera uses if you are just starting out. Choose your camera for the features you need and then you will have to use what that camera uses.

The one advantage of comapct flash is that since the controller is built into the camera you can use any size card that is available (usually). My camera uses Smartmedia so I am "limited" to 128MB cards, but that is enough to hold 256 pictures at 2Megapixels and I have several 128 and 64 MB cards so I don't consider that a limit.
jbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2002, 11:02 AM   #3