Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Jan 1, 2003, 9:07 PM   #1
q

Default reformatting smart media card?

I posted a problem with my smart media card earlier and got some wonderful responses, now I have two simple but dumb questions (I'm still learning).

1. If you have to reformat your card (FAT16) do you lose all of your photo images when you do this? My guess is that you do, but I'm ever hopeful that I won't.

2. If you just delete the bad areas of your card will the card begin working? I mean if you delete each image by hand using the digital camera. (I somehow saved a manipulated image from the computer to the card and now have problems).

I did try some free photo recovery software but can't recover the image I really wanted to save. I can however print it off my printer by putting the media card directly into it. Weird.

Thanks,

Cindy
q is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2003, 11:40 PM   #2

cindy,
on #1 yes you will loose. On #2 never have had that problem, but on the brighterside I have seen 128 SM cards for about $35.
Good luck,
Gary
Gary Senkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2003, 7:17 AM   #3

Cindy

I always format my card in the camera. Yes you lose anything on the card when you format.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2003, 8:31 PM   #4

Is there any reason to [re]format a SM card more than once, i.e., after the initial format of the card when it is first put into service? Assuming, of course, that no problems like file corruption and the like have arisen.

Can we continually upload image files from the card (either direct from the camera to the PC or via a card reader) and erase the old image files and start the capture-upload cycle all over again?

Are there any drawbacks to reformatting the card after every upload cycle?

jeff
jawz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2003, 8:49 PM   #5

jawz
No reason to reformat more than once.