Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 4, 2006, 6:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Aphrodite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default

hi, i am new to this website and i am seeking some advice regarding xd cards.

I have a few cards that are dysfunctional. when i put them in the camera i got a "card error" warning. This happened a few times when i first got my camera and was getting used to digital. I took the cards out whilst i had the camera on. silly me i know, but my question is, can anything be done to make them usable again? Seems such a waste as 2 are 1 gb cards and the other 2 are 512 mb.

ty

yasmin
Aphrodite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 5, 2006, 2:14 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default

I Have a similar problem with an Olympus E.1. This could be a camera problem not a card one. I tried my cards in another persons camera they worked fine. Then He put his card in my camera and it came up card error. I would advise you check you cards in another camera before you dispose of them
dingbat2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 2:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Reanimator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 1,347
Default

yasmin

can u read the card in a card reader plugged into the pc?

if i can get pics of it and format it.......u can do it via the card reader if u cant do it via the camera

a corupt image can stop the card working as i have suffered a similar thing myself

if u dont have a card reader they are not that expensive, and are usefull as they read most if not all cards, handy if friends call etc

Gary
Reanimator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 4:54 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Aphrodite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default

ty for the helpful advice dingbat and gary. i tried formatting them in-camera and guess what guys, it worked!! they are all now fully functional.

my friendtried them inher camera and got the same error message, so a big thank you dingbat. and a big thank you to you gary for giving me the reformatting idea. i have a card reader built in to my pc. this has made me very happy.

yasmin

XX
Aphrodite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2006, 7:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Reanimator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 1,347
Default

Yasmin

glad u got it all sorted, its quite rare for a card to totaly fail but it does happen

Gary
Reanimator is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:31 AM.