Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Jun 19, 2006, 9:57 AM   #1

Hello,

I was wondering what memory card (brand/capacity/speed) would be ideal for my Kodak v550 considering,

I would like it to be no greater than 1GB (because of cost)
I would like to make occasional videos of good quality (no noticeable lag)

I like how 1GB cards can hold approx. 500 pictures but I've read on this forum that it's better to have a couple 512mb cards instead because:
a) with a 1GB card you run the risk of losing too many pictures if the card happens to die
b)1GB cards are relatively slower than lesser capacity cards.

Is it relatively common to have memory cards die on you? And what do they mean by slower? Could somebody explain to me how memory cards affect speed (speed of what exactly)? Finally, let's say I decide on 1GB, do I then have to decide what speed, or does each capacity card come with a corresponding speed?

I'm a complete newbie to this dc/memory card thing, any thoughtful suggestions and answers would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
starcrossed19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2006, 6:28 PM   #2

I bought one of these last week:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820211035

Understand that the above product is "Open Box", and comes only with a 15-day return policy. A brand new card is $20.00 before shipping. So, you could get (2) 1 GB cards for $40 before shipping The 150x 1 GB cards are only $3.50 more.

I've been happy with my A-DATA 2GB 150x card that I purchased back in Dec.

As you will see, the "sweet spot" in pricing now is with the 1GB cards. The 512 cards are actually more expensive!

Personally, I'd go with (2) 1GB cards. Good luck!
coppertrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2006, 4:31 AM   #3

Hi ya,