Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Misc Accessories

Old Sep 27, 2004, 6:29 AM   #1

this is icebear7's digital camera writing... We are going to the US together for the first time next week!

We have the right plug for charging me, the camera, but the Problem: do we need some other devices because of the different voltage? Or will it just work?

The camera is a Nikon Coolpix SQ ... HELP! The camera has to work for 2 weeks and not just as long as the batteries are charged...

I'm new to this page and looking forward to your help.

Steffi

PS: no, it doesn't say anything about that in the manual :idea:
icebear7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 27, 2004, 8:50 AM   #2

Guten Tag...

What you'll have to do is look at the rating plate on the charger itself...if it just says, "Input: 240 volts", then you'll need a voltage converter. If however it says, "Input: 120-240 volts" (or something that includes that range), then all you need is the correct plug adapter which has blades like:
http://www.epanorama.net/documents/g...p/usa_plug.gif

This goes for anything electronic you are taking overseas (including shaver and hair dryer). Note that many personal appliances require you to flip a switch or turn a dial for proper voltage adjustment...just don't forget to flip it BACK when you return home. The charger (if multi-voltage capable) is usually automatic switching but doublecheck to make sure.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2004, 9:06 AM   #3

what it says on the charger is:

INPUT 4.2 V= 1.5A OUTPUT 4.2V=1.5A Adaptor

4.2V=0.9 A Charger

with the lower line of the "=" in smaller lines

somewhere else they wrote DC IN 4.2V

And my Class B digital apparatur meets all requirements of the Canadian INterference Causing Equipment Regulations - tough I'm not going to Canada :-)

Steffi
Old Sep 27, 2004, 9:35 AM   #4