Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Misc Accessories

Old Nov 10, 2004, 1:41 PM   #1
Zar

Hello people.

I am looking for a good lens-cleaning kit, since I suppose they will need to be cleaned someday. Which one is recommended?

Adittionally, I have heard some people who says "use only your breath on them, and then clean them with your t-shirt". How true -and safe- is that? Are there any additional reccomendations for cleaning the camera lenses?

I'm not a total newbie, but that particular action is something I'm pretty nervous about, so feel free to direct me to some "cleaning lenses for dummies" kind of website.

Thanks.
Zar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2004, 10:04 PM   #2

Get a Giotto Rocket-Air from The Filter Connection -- I just got mine today with a couple of filters I ordered from them and it works great -- got rid of a dang dust particle I've had inmyD70 just fine.
MarkLang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2004, 2:42 PM   #3
Administrator

I prefer Hanes... If it's smudged, I'll use a dropof water on one spot ofa cottont-shirt (not too wet, since I don't want it to drip into the lens),followed by a dry portion of the shirt (making sure to get in close to the edges good). :-)

Actually, you can get specialized lint freetissue and clothes for lens cleaning at almost any camera store (eyeglass vendors are also a source).The LensPen isanother popular too (and these are also sold at discounts at many camera stores and online dealers):

http://www.lenspen.com/

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2004, 10:20 PM   #4

Another good "free" lint free cloth is the shoe polish cloth they have in hotel rooms.
GoCubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2004, 2:34 AM   #5

If you realy care about your lens I would go to Sears Optical Dept. or any place of the like and get there individually packaged optical pre-moistened lens cloth.