Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Misc Accessories

Old Jan 31, 2005, 11:46 AM   #1

Hi
I'm about to leave for Disney with my 5 y/o twins - their first trip. Naturally I'm going to want to shoot every event from every angle and luckily they are camera hogs. My 512 Memory Stick Pro won't hold nearly enough to get us through so I'm trying to sort out my options. As the trip is going to cost a bunch o' dough I'm hoping to find the cheapest reliable storage device.

I am willing to forego a display for the sake of budget. I'm planning on doing nightly transfers at the hotel so speed and weight don't matter much to me either.

Ideas, thoughts or advice?

Thanks in advance.

Dave

(if only my iPod had the docking port I could use it with an adaptor but unfortunately I can't use this to justify buying a new one)
dmaxdmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2005, 1:21 PM   #2

dmax,

I'm pretty new to all this too, so please keep that in mind.

I'm currently looking at the X's Drive II+ VP2160 (by Vosonic), which is US $169.99 at mydigitaldiscount.com. From a blurb on that site:

"(This unit is the smallest 2.5-inch hard drive based portable storage device on the market.)

* USB 2.0 High speed compatible

* A standard-alone, Plam size and rechargeable storage device.

* Support SM, SD/MMC, MS ,MS Pro and CFType I/II,MicroDrive, Mini-SD (with adapter) ,RS-MMC (with adapter),MS Duo (with adapter),MS Pro Duo (with adapter).

* Infinite memory & storage expansion configuration with internal Hard Disk

* Black and White LCD displays working status ( no picture preview ).

* Fast & easy file transfer and storage with a simple button operating."

They show a pic of a man putting it into his shirt pocket, BTW; you can then understand how small it is!