Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 8, 2003, 7:53 AM   #1

Default Which camera for my use?

First of all: I'm sorry if you guys are sick of answering this question, but I'll give it a shot.

About a week ago I finally decided on getting a digital camera, since I'm one of those that hardly have taken any pictures for the last 10 years. And it kind of makes me sad to think about all those moments, parties, gatherings that's gone by - undocumented. I mean - I've got friends that I've never taken a picture of. Well, no more.

My biggest problem is that I'm that guy who never learned to take photos. If I sent in a 36 picture film, I got like 15 pictures back. The rest was unusable.

So, I've been looking around, trying to narrow it down a bit. So I'm looking for:

- 3 Mpix
- at least 2x Zoom
- reasonable size - I want this to go with me all over
- point and shoot- I don't mind manual control, but I've never used them before, so I'll need to learn it first. But I need this camera to be able to grow with me.
- $400 budget - I would prefer keeping it closer to 300, but could go up to 400.

From all the reviews I've read, I've narrowed it down to:
- Canon PowerShot S230/IXUS V3
- Canon A70
- Nikon CoolPix 3100
- Sony Cybershot DSC-P72

What kind of picyures will I be taking?
- indoors: parties, everyday life, portraits
- outdoors: landscape, scenery

Most of my photos will be going on my web page, but I'm sure I'll be making prints as well, standard size. From time to time I might blow up a couple of pictures to A3 size, so the camera has to be able to cope with that.

I hope someone out there can help. thanks

patashnik
patashnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2003, 8:44 AM   #2

Default Re: Which camera for my use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patashnik
... - $400 budget - I would prefer keeping it closer to 300, but could go up to 400.