Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 10, 2006, 5:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

hi all,just wondering if anyone can help with a query i've got.i'm getting a sony dsc-h5 for christmas and i've been reading alot about it on here as i know nothing about photography yet but i'm hoping to learn when i get my camera.i've been reading that with a high iso setting you get noise on your picture,i hope i don't sound to thick but what exactly does that mean.hope someone can tell me.thanks mandyal
mandyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 10, 2006, 7:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bob Nichol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Eastern Ontario Canada
Posts: 822
Default

Compare the test photos on http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonyh5/page10.asp shot at ISO 1000 with http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonyh5/page8.asp shot at ISO 80. Look in particular at the photos with lots of dark areas such as the picture of the lens. The coloured mottled hash on the page 10 photos is noise.
Bob Nichol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 8:51 PM   #3
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

There are dedicated programs available that remove noise from photos. Some have free versions (noiseware for one does). They won't make photos perfect but they help a great deal.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 9:22 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Sintares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 647
Default

Congratulations !

An excellent resource for the H series cameras is the H1(*) Whitepaper at http://www.aakatz.com/h1whitepaper/

Hint, tips, suggested settings, way better than the poor Sony manual !


(*) Originally written for the H1 its now updated to take into account the newer members of the H series.


Sintares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2006, 4:01 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thank you bob i understand now and thanks for the other replies.could anyone also tell me if i left the camera on the auto position would it still take great pics
mandyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2006, 4:14 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks sintares thats a great site you've suggested,i'm on with reading it now.i just wish i had my camera now.roll on xmas
mandyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2006, 9:18 AM   #7
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

mandyal wrote:
Quote:
thank you bob i understand now and thanks for the other replies.could anyone also tell me if i left the camera on the auto position would it still take great pics
In certain situations it would absolutely take great pics. Where it will fall short is in difficult situations - low light. It also won't let you achieve shallow depth of field shots (where subject is in focus but background is blurred - think portrait shots). It also won't garantee you have enough shutter speed to 'freeze' moving subjects - for instance kids running. This becomes even more so when lighting gets worse - like indoors. Or when there is bright light and shadows.

So, for starters yes. But if you want to get more out of the camera above what a point-and-shoot gives you, you would be well served to do some reading about the principles of photography - exposure and it's components (ISO, aperture, shutter speed), depth of field. And also some time learning post processing techniques. You'd be amazed how much better photos can look if you just spend a minute processing them.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2006, 10:51 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks for that johnG.i think i've got a lot to learn as i don't really understand anything about aperture and shutter speed etc as i've only owned a fully auto camera before,thats why i'm getting this camera as i want to learn to take better pics.it'll keep me busy anyway trying to learn it all.thanks again for all your replies.i might need more help in the future when i get the cam
mandyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:44 PM.