Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 5, 2006, 6:13 AM   #1

Hi all. I'm pretty new to photography and have had my Fuji S5600 for only a few months but really want to learn more about it all.

My question is if I take a picture (in this instance of the moon) using the 5 megapixel setting on fine compression, how much could I crop the picture and still have it printed out on a standard 5x7 print? On the 5M (fine) setting the images are 2592 pixels times 1944 pixels, but a pic of the moon has obviously alot of black background that doesn't add to the pic. I want to have the moon as big as possible in the print but still want it as sharp as possible.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Waverley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 5, 2006, 6:38 AM   #2

The only real answer is, "Try it and find out".
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2006, 10:48 AM   #3

This web article may help you understand digital printing and resolution:

http://photo.net/learn/resize/
blindsight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2006, 3:23 PM   #4

blindsight wrote:
Quote:
This web article may help you understand digital printing and resolution:

http://photo.net/learn/resize/
Thanks heaps for that. I'll give it a good read and see if it makes sense to me.

I understand that with a digital camera alot of what you do can be achieved through trial-and-error (because the unwanted shots can be just deleted) but that same logic doesn't apply with actually printing out prints because you'll potentially end up with blurry / unclear shots that you've paid for to be printed - hence my question.

Cheers.
Old Dec 5, 2006, 4:47 PM   #5

I also read the same question you posted over at Fuji forum, and Bill's reply. Although I don't print pictures at home (only at photo labs), I also want to give it a go.