Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 3, 2007, 4:52 AM   #1

Hi, i'm pretty new to the photography world, so be excuse my incompotence.

i would like to know what the numbers on the lens mean? i've done some research on the camera, Canon PowerShot SD700 IS (Digital IXUS 800 IS).. i found that the zoom wide is 35 mm and zoom tele is 140mm .. But on the camera it says 5.8-23.2mm 1:2.8-5.5

Can someone please kindly explain?

thank you
jappy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2007, 6:18 AM   #2

jappy88 wrote:
Quote:
Hi, i'm pretty new to the photography world, so be excuse my incompotence.

i would like to know what the numbers on the lens mean? i've done some research on the camera, Canon PowerShot SD700 IS (Digital IXUS 800 IS).. i found that the zoom wide is 35 mm and zoom tele is 140mm .. But on the camera it says 5.8-23.2mm 1:2.8-5.5
The actual focal length of the zoom lens ranges from 5.8 to 23.2 mm. But since so many different sensor sizes are used on different cameras, almost all manufacturers also advertise numbers that are the equivalent focal lengths in a 35mm film camera (since most people are still familiar with the focal lengths on the old 35mm film).

So your Canon's lens has a real focal length range of 5.8 to 23.2 mm, but since the sensor is a tiny 1/2.5" size, when you look through the viewfinder and consider the field of view produced on that tiny sensor, it's comparable to what you would see if you looked through a 35mm film camera 's viewfinder with a 35 to 140 mm zoom lens attached.

So basically, for any of this to make sense you have to have some familiarity with the field of view produced by various lenses on a 35mm film camera.

Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2007, 7:51 AM   #3

Yep, everything Norm said is in order.

The only thing I didn't see was an explanation of 1:2.8-5.5