Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 29, 2007, 9:48 PM   #1

Are there any dslr cameras that have a true movie mode?

I understand the transfer rate limitations of the memory... those can be overcome with hardware mpeg4 encoding, or an external high speed storage device such as a portable hard drive...

correct me if i'm wrong, but the shutters speed shouldn't be a limitation because it can be done more or less in software, it doesn't necessarily ADD to the photo taking process... I would still be able to view what the camera is seeing on the lcd as it videos...

so what is keeping movie taking features from showing up in dslr cameras?
Noble is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2007, 3:17 AM   #2

no there are none right now. The mirror is one obstacle to providing a movie mode. The heat is another (although I'm not technically advanced enough to give specifics - hopefully someone else can chime in). Third, a DSLR is meant to be a high quality piece of photographic equipment. R&D money has to be spent wisely. It's only in the last year or two that there has been a massive influx of digicam users into the DSLR world. So you're just starting to see a swing towards technology that is important to THAT demographic (like anti-shake in body and mega zoom 18-300 type lenses) and away from technology for the semi-pro and pro demographic.

IMO, necessity is the mother of invention - if DSLR companies perceive a movie mode will provide competitive advantage (and that's tough because rememember the demographic interested is the entry level purchaser and thus costs must be kept low) they will do so. Just from following several forums I don't get the sense this is a pressing requirement for a lot of would-be camera buyers. Right now the entry level demographic seems to be hung up on megapixels (sigh), anti shake and anti-dust.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2007, 9:13 PM   #3