Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 31, 2007, 6:21 AM   #1

I am completely new to DSLRs (I have some knowledge in compacts) and the good users here have convinced me to go after my first one. I have a few quick questions-

One thing I noticed while searching for some reasonably priced entry level models is that the Nikon D40 does not have an autofocus motor and therefore all lenses without one built in must be focused manually. Should I be put off by this, or do most new lenses have autofocus built in?

If I plan on using a 300mm or 400mm telephoto for action shots, would it be impossible to produce steady images under normal circumstances (without a mono or tripod)? Is it really worth spending an extra $300 on a body just for image stabilisation?

And my final question; is the difference in normal snapshots between DSLRs and compacts substantial? For example, is a Fuji S1 Pro still going to produce better images with its 3mp sensor than the current point and shoot models?

tennisforums is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2007, 8:42 AM   #2

tennisforums wrote:
Quote:
One thing I noticed while searching for some reasonably priced entry level models is that the Nikon D40 does not have an autofocus motor and therefore all lenses without one built in must be focused manually. Should I be put off by this, or do most new lenses have autofocus built in?
This just limits your choice of auto-focus lenses. If you can live within the limitations of the D40, then go with it and save your money.

tennisforums wrote:
Quote:
If I plan on using a 300mm or 400mm telephoto for action shots, would it be impossible to produce steady images under normal circumstances (without a mono or tripod)? Is it really worth spending an extra $300 on a body just for image stabilisation?