Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 6, 2007, 3:54 PM   #1

I'm pretty new to digital photography and have only used point and shoot digital cameras. Years ago, I have taken a couple courses years ago, but that was strictly film. (actually I don't even know if digital photography existed) In doing my homework to by a new camera (I've pretty much decided on the Canon S3 IS), I came across noise. I know noise is often "off" colors of things like the sky or tree lines, but most explanations don't include great shots of noise. So, does anyone here have some good examples of noise in pictures? Is there a really good web page that points out these problems an offers ways to avoid them?

Thanks in advance.

Greg
fritz_monroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2007, 4:16 PM   #2

noise is pretty much the equilalent of grain in film photography. It really doesn't have much to do with colors other that the fact that it shows up more in darker areas of the image.
Caboose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2007, 4:22 PM   #3

Ok, I can see that. That would also explain why it is mentioned more at higher ISO settings.

I've also seen some articles about getting a purplish color in the sky and calling that noise. Would that be something a bit different?
Old Feb 6, 2007, 6:03 PM   #4

fritz,

There are different types of noise in digital pics. Basically, it shows up as specks. Here are some examples:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fuji...00fd/page6.asp

Whoops...sorry...

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2007, 8:58 PM   #5

fritz, if you want to minimize noise, shoot at the lowest ISO you can by with, avoid long exposures (say, 1/15 sec. and under) and try not to underexpose.