Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 9, 2003, 4:05 PM   #1

Default Olympus C-4000 or Nikon Coolpix 4300?

Hi, Nice forum

I am new to Digital Photography. I have some experience with 35mm cameras, but not too much. I want to buy a good digital camera. I don't want to go overboard, but I don't want too shabby either. I did some research, but I need some help.
I was thinking of buying an Olympus C-4000 or the equally priced Nikon Coolpix 4300. One thing I am confused about, do they both use the same kind of film card? What kind of film card should a camera have that I can be sure to be using in the future?
I also like the Olympus 750, but I think it's out of my price range, and may have more features than I need.
So, any opinions on which camera might be good for me? Please give me any opinions on what you think a newbie to digital photography should get.
Also, I like to take pictures while I travel, at baseball games, of my flowers, people, landscapes, and all sorts of things.
Thank You.
gardengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2003, 5:47 PM   #2

Okay, I figured out the Olympus uses SM and the Nikon CF. Which one of these is better though? Thanks
Old Jul 9, 2003, 7:29 PM   #3

I like CF over SM

CF the contacts are in the inside of the card were the SM the contacts are on the outside, so they can get scratched up more.

CF also comes in larger sizes than SM does, unless that has changed.
Gimli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2003, 7:59 PM   #4

Hi, Gimli! The point about the SM scratching is a good one. I don't want to take all those pictures only to mess it up by a stupid mistake.
I think the CF might be better too, as I can get an XD 256MB card for $107.00, but I can get a CF 512MB card for $116. That's a big difference. Twice the memory for almost the same price. I am worried CF will be phased out though, they already have a CF2?