Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 10, 2007, 8:59 PM   #1

I've been visiting Steve's DigiCams website for a few years now. The information has been invaluable during my multiple camera purchases. I love my Sony DSC F717 camera that I've had for awhile, but it's large and bulky and I tend to miss moments of a lifetime because I hate carrying it around. In my search for a "purse camera" with the same type of quality photos, one of the things most important to me is the image quality. I've found that if I view some of my pictures in full pixel mode, if it's crisp then the shot was focused properly and it prints crisp and clear. I've been trying to use this same idea when comparing sample photos in the reviews on this site.

Usually, I choose the photo with the M&M guys in it. I mainly use the magazines and the can on the left as my reference points. I look to see how crisp the letters are on the magazines along with the edges and lines of the can. I also tend to do this on the portrait photos. In full pixel mode, how detailed and crisp is the person's skin, teeth, etc.

Is this the best way to compare the sample photos? Is there an easier or more effective way of doing this?

Thank you for any assistance.
LakNormn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2007, 8:42 AM   #2

LakNormn wrote:
Quote:
... Is this the best way to compare the sample photos? Is there an easier or more effective way of doing this? ...
The best way to compare sample photos is:Don't Do It! In good part what you are looking at is the default settings - in the examples you mentioned, sharpening.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 9:10 AM   #3

Thanks for the reply. Then what good are the sample photos and how do I know if a camera takes good photos or not using the review on this site?
Old Mar 11, 2007, 1:48 PM   #4
rey

I still look at the review pictures, it's just a matter of understanding what you're looking for.