Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 7, 2007, 10:21 PM   #1

Well I'm new to the dslr scene.. I used to love taking pictures with my old pentak k1000 and decided to try out something new.. but I purchased 2 cameras so far and braught the first one back and just opened a new e-500 2 lens kit... first camera was a pentax k100 nice I liked it but it was i discounted display model which seemed to have what looked like dead pixels it the image it self "anyone wants a sample i can send one".. this didn't look like dust. So I picked up this camera the e-500 .. i've taken about 10 pic's, and have found what seems to be 4 dead pixels.. Is this common or am i doing something wrong? dust maybe? they are 4 spots uniform in size and shape 2 red one blue and one light green/grey.. as I've said i can send samples to anyone who'd like to give an opinion... Thanks
Vaq2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2007, 1:51 PM   #2

Please attach some pictures so we can see the pixels.
Illuminati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2007, 4:51 PM   #3

http://www.mediamax.com/vaq2/Links/AF83D8C0AE

Here they are for download
Old May 8, 2007, 10:49 PM   #4

Those are not dead pixels, they are hot pixels. The Exif data shows that you took the photo with a 2 second shutter speed at f3.5. At slower exposures it is not uncommon to have a few hot pixels show up. 4 hot pixels out of 8 million is not to bad although on my 30D I do not have any hot pixels showing up until I hit the 20 second shutter speed. I doubt Olympus would consider this abnormal, but you could always contact them and see.
gryphonslair99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2007, 11:36 PM   #5

Many higher end camera have a calibration function which maps the output of individual pixel and makes the appropriate gain adjustments. Does yours?
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2007, 11:54 PM   #6