Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 11, 2003, 6:32 AM   #1

Default Huge Dilemma, need help...

Hi,

I'm a newbie regarding Digital photography.

My dilemma is very simple.

Why should I fork so much money for a Digital camera??

I have my eyes set on a c-740.
I think it is a great camera, but the more I think about buying it more I think why I want to buy it.

I have to make a decision, and one day is yes I want one so I can take beautiful pictures of pretty much everything, and some days no, it's too expensive just for some lousy pictures.

So what were your arguments that made you decide to get a Digital camera?

Help me take the plunge. :?
Hammerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2003, 6:56 AM   #2

Think about what you want to do. If it's holidays twice a year shooting 2-3 rolls of film, then stick with film, get images scanned to CD if you like.

If you are interested in opportunities to take more pictures, willing to spend the time, likely to enjoy 'digital darkroom' work and take pride in producing your own 'unique' work, start thinking digital.

It's not about which camera, more about the experience of photography. If you aren't sure on this point, consider buying a cheaper re-furb or new digicam 2-3Mpix, get some experience and see whether digital is for you.
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 9:54 AM   #3

Hi Hammerjoe...

Take the plunge .

No debate.

It is too much fun to wait!

Make sure you buy your digcam with at least a 15 day
return policy.

That way, if, you choose to stick to film, you can
possibly return the cam.

Good luck
digcamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 11:02 AM   #4

Default Re: Huge Dilemma, need help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammerjoe
So what were your arguments that made you decide to get a Digital camera?