Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 8, 2007, 5:53 PM   #1

Ok i'm really new with this digital stuff. I am confused with the size of the final picture, it's huge and i can't post them on some web sites that limit the size, if i crop the picture i lose well over 90% of the picture, that not a picture i like to have posted. Anyway i use jpeg basic, and small image(1936x1296). i get a picture well over 300kb, i like a moremanageral size without losing most of the original photo. help

thanks

dan:?
jpegonpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 8, 2007, 6:46 PM   #2

dan writes: Ok i'm really new with this digital stuff. I am confused with the size of the final picture, it's huge and i can't post them on some web sites that limit the size, if i crop the picture i lose well over 90% of the picture, that not a picture i like to have posted. Anyway i use jpeg basic, and small image(1936x1296). i get a picture well over 300kb, i like a moremanageral size without losing most of the original photo. help

1936x1296 would make a good 4x6 print if done at 300dpi (dot per inch), but that doesn't mean that it'll show up on a monitor at the same size. I'm still wanking along on an old 17 inch CRT at 1024x786 resolution. Your 1936x1296 wouldn't even fit on my screen at full size! People still using 15 inch monitors will have to start scolling around at 800x600!

What you need to do is use an image editor to downsize the full pictures (as opposed to cropping) to get a pixel border that's more in line with the image borders that are used on the sites where you want to post. The exact method for doing this will vary based on the editor. This is a basic enough function that just about any editor will do -- including the free ones!

Try Picasa or Irfanview to start out with if you don't already have some kind of editing software. They're both free.