Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 26, 2007, 5:32 AM   #1

Hi all,

Please bear in mind I've asked this on a newbie forum - I'm quite new to photography so please excuse if my questions seem a bit naive :-)

I've been 'playing' with my Canon 400D and on a recent holiday took hundreds of photographs learning about apertures and exposure compensation, light etc. I came back with a few 'keepers' but more than that I've learnt a bit more about my camera and the 'science' behind it.

Now, after reading the monthly photographic magazines I get the impression that one can't take a truly good photo without using imaging software. My main interest at the moment lies with the taking of the pictures, not sitting behind a computer manipulating them. I do use Picasa for basic tweaks though.

So my questions are, to people with a lot more experience than me:

1) How much do you use photo editing software to create your images, or with experience, can you generally get 'keepers' straight out of the box, so to speak?

2) I appreciate that editing software can only do somuch, (eg can't rescue blurred images etc) but how far can software compensate for quality of lenses?

3) Would I be better off as a long-term investment buying a) slightly less expensive but well-regarded lens plus editing software, or b) better quality lens?

I appreciate that this is a long-winded query, but I can't think of any other way to put it.

Many thanks, as always, in advance
Beejygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2007, 6:21 AM   #2

1) Out of the box: None. I tend to overshoot so everything needs at least a little bit of cropping. That avoids having to figure out exactly where (and how much) the viewfinder mismatches the final image. I also have the saturation, contrast, and sharpening turned down a bit so most images need that done. All stuff that can be done with freeware.