Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 30, 2003, 4:58 PM   #1

Default Starter lenses for first-time dSLR

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here; though I have been reading everyone's great posts for a while.

Although my livelyhood doesn't depend upon my photography alone. I do make my living doing a LOT of various computer graphics tasks (3D animation/still-life, HDRI 3D rendering, 2D image manipulation, web design, digital illustration & painting, and limited publishing/print work).

I am finally ready to take the plunge and get my first dSLR. It will be a big jump for me from my old FujiFilm P&S.
I hope you guys don't get asked this question everyday, but I couldn't find any answers via searching the forum.

My question is this:
I have decided to buy the Canon 10D for my dSLR use. But I am having trouble deciding on what lense (or lenses) I should initially get for the camera (some of the EF series I looked at cost as much as the camera body).
I am looking for at least one lense with a general-purpose, wide application range functionality as my first lense. I will then later add other lenses as funds allow.
What I would like to know is:
1) Is there one lense good enough for most shooting needs? And if so what features make this a "must-have".
2) If a multi-lense aproach is the best bet to start with; what lenses should I consider...and what features should I look for in a particular lense?
3) This might be stretching the topic a bit but what lenses should I consider for my second/third purchases?
ZrO-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2003, 11:32 PM   #2

Nuts, I made a really rather long reply to this, but it was lost.