Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 10, 2007, 2:46 PM   #1

I've been using the Canon A570IS for a few months now, and need some help in picture taking... I find a lot of noise in the pics when using anything other then AUTO.. what can I do about this? Is it the ISO setting, what is the max I should be using.. or is it some other setting?
pbosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 10, 2007, 3:23 PM   #2
Administrator

That really doesn't tell us much (anything other than Auto). ;-)

What ISO speeds are you trying to use?

With your camera model, I'd try to stick with ISO 200 or lower whenever possible. But, ISO 400 looks like it would be usable in a pinch. I'd probably avoid anything higher, unless you plan on keeping print/viewing sizes very small.

Quality is very subjective, and you will have more noise as you increase ISO speed. But, it will be less noticeable at smaller print and viewing sizes.

It's a matter of balance. You may need higher ISO speeds in less than optimum lighting to preven motion blur from subject movement. Sometimes it's better to have more noise versus a blurry photo. ;-)

So, you have to weigh the downside of more noise, versus motion blur if you don't increase ISO speed. In some conditions, you may not be able to get usable photos without a flash. Every camera has limitations.

Other factors can also impact noise. For example, noise tends to be worse in underexposed areas. So, if you're trying to shoot in manual modes, it could be your fault (underexposing the images). Also, if you try to brighten an underexposed image later, noise will be higher, just as if you used a higher ISO speed to begin with. So, proper exposure is critical to higher quality photos.

You may want to post a downsized example if you can't figure out what is wrong.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2007, 4:12 PM   #3