Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 14, 2008, 2:37 PM   #1

I recently got an Olympus FE-240 and my previous camera was an older Nikon Coolpix 885 that I inhereted. I was just playing around with the Olympus and I must say, the images aren't as sharp as I expected. The Nikon, although with smaller resolution, seems to produce a little crisper image with a greater area of the photo in focus for most images.

I'm new to digital cameras, but I kind of expected the Olympus to be a big step up. I like the features of the Olympus, but the images are just a bit blurrier.

My question is...are these two cameras in the same class or am I making an unfair comparison? Should I really be comparing the slimmer point and shoot to the older, larger camera?
Vandal03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2008, 5:22 PM   #2

I've played around with a FE-240, and it's not a bad little camera...but keep in mind what it is...a small, relatively inexpensive camera almost totally devoid of manual adjustments. You have no manual mode, no aperture and shutter priority settings. Another drawback to the Oly in comparison to your old Nikon, is that the Oly has a smaller sensor, and more than twice the megapixels...more into less usually hurts overall picture quality.

However, your problems seem related to lack of sharpness and depth of field (area in focus), as opposed to noise or graininess. The only way we can know for sure what is causing the problems, is if you can post a couple of pictures directly to this forum (not through a photo website).