Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 24, 2003, 1:50 AM   #1

Default Wanting to buy a Digital Camera

I am an absolute beginner to digital photography and I am wanting to purchase a camera which is pretty straightforward to use, yet will allow me to perform advanced functions when i become more compitent with it.

I wish to take landscape photographs as well as photographs of people working (an art thing i have got an interest for). i would also like to be able to create black and white photgraphs as well as color

My budget is a maximum of $400.

Please help me with some recommendations as there are so many cameras out there, I do not want to get a poor deal for my money
Rosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2003, 2:12 AM   #2

The canon a70 is a decent little camera. Easy to use with room to grow into. It is well under your budget and the extra money will come in handy. You will need things like larger memory card, rechargable batteries (or a spare battery), tripod right off the bat, if you really want to start using it.
richardh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2003, 10:38 AM   #3

The Olympus C740Z can be purchased on line for under $400 dollars. It is a 10X optical zoom, 3.2 mp and has many options for the beginner and advanced user. It has preset modes for portrait, landscape and several other settings.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2003, 10:52 PM   #4