Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 10, 2008, 4:31 PM   #1

I apologize if this is a dumb question...I am still learning. I have a Nikon D40x, and was having issues with sharpness when I was in aperture or shutter priority. Well, it seems that my shots are great when I am outdoors, but when I am indoors (even in well lit areas) is where I seem to end up with extremely blurry pictures. I do not like usingthe flash as the pictures come out too harsh, so I am wondering if lighting could have anything to do with the blur? I tried adjusting the shutter speed but that didn't seem to help at all. What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance for your help.
bkond08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2008, 5:10 PM   #2

Off the top of my head, it could be motion blur due to camera shake. Indoors, the lighting isn't as good so the shutter speed needs to be slower, and if you don't hold the camera rock steady, it'll shake and blur the image.

Do you have an example you can post here, so we can get some clues?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 7:53 PM   #3

With questions like this, it always pays to post one or two of the problem shots.

Most times, people can access the EXIF data from the picture and see the camera settings that were in effect when the shot was taken. This takes a lot of the guess work out of offering advice.

Grant
granthagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 8:16 PM   #4

OK. I just have to figure out how to post some pictures. Thanks.
Old Jun 10, 2008, 9:37 PM   #5

Here is an outdoor shot

Old Jun 10, 2008, 9:38 PM   #6

Versus here is an indoor shot
Old Jun 10, 2008, 10:17 PM   #7