Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 15, 2008, 12:29 PM   #1

Hi all,

I am a novice to DSLR and own a Nikon D50 with an 18-55mm kit lens, and also a 55-200 VR Nikkor lens.

Although I understand the princilple of an F Stop number, I am struggling to understand how for example, my 55-200mm Nikkor VR which is F4-5.6 at each end, but the D50 will allow me to get as far as F20 at 200mm when selecting one of the manual modes.

What is actually happening here? Is the lens still at F5.6 at 200mm even though my camera is showing F20?

I appreciate this (should be) obvious to many, but that is why I am here to learn.

Any replies that help explain appreciated...

Chris
Chrisbenwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 15, 2008, 4:51 PM   #2

That's why the question and answer forums are here - none of us started out knowing everything, and most of us find that there is always something more to learn.

The lens specifications give the f/number for the largest lens opening. With most lenses, you are able to 'stop down' the lens to a smaller aperture, depending on the light available, and your creative choice regarding depth of field vs shutter speed. F/20 would give you a large depth of field, which can be appropriate for landscapes, or pictures in which both foreground and background action need to be in focus. The F number is normally written as f/#, which is the focal length of the lens divided by the aperture, so the larger number results in a smaller lens opening.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 8:50 AM   #3

Chrisbenwalker wrote:
Quote:
... my 55-200mm Nikkor VR which is F4-5.6 at each end, ...
No, the note on the lens means the maximum aperature is f/4 at the short end (50mm) and 5.6 at the long end (200mm).
Quote:
What is actually happening here? Is the lens still at F5.6 at 200mm even though my camera is showing F20?