Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 13, 2008, 11:25 PM   #1

So I have my new Sony dslr A200. I have found a photographer that I really like his work. It's www.zaughphotography.com The top has a link to portfolios 1, 2, 3 for examples. He does headshots for actors which is what I would like to do. He seems to be outside mostly. But what I really want to know is how he gets everything around the subject to blur out so much. Does anyone know how I can get a similar look? I am a rookie and I am taking some Ritz classes. But that is the look I really like and wonder how he is doing it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!
rae rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2008, 2:45 AM   #2

The easy way is to do it witha lens, and to do that you need a really narrow depth of field, and there are differemt ways to do that. The easiest is to have a portrait lens something like an 85mm f1.8 or f1.4 (really expensive)and use it close to wide open, which is f1.8, or maybe f2 and get close or far enough away to fill the frame with as much of the subject as you want. The closer you get at a wide aperture like f2, the less you will have in focus beyond your subject, to the point it will blur.

You can also use a really long lens thatwill notbe as fast as that f1.8, but you can zoom to 250-300mm and position yourself close enough to fill the frame again. Most likely the fastest f-stop you will have is something like f5.6, but the extreme focal length combined with being close to your subjectwill narrow the depth of field and blur the background to some extent, depending how close or far off the background is.

Another way is to *cheat* by using a software program like Photoshop to blur the background, but you have to be careful or the "look" will not be natural.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2008, 6:44 AM   #3