Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 13, 2003, 1:56 AM   #1

Default My 1st Digital Camera?

Hi,

I plan to buy a digicam and am confused by the 3 options provided:
* Fuji Finepix A310
* Canon A70
* Nikon CP3100

Can someone please enlight me as to which digicam I should pursue?

Rgds,
infitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 13, 2003, 7:21 AM   #2

What types of pictures will you be shooting. Do you want to grow in the use of the camera or only need point and shoot.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2003, 8:47 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibsonpd3620
What types of pictures will you be shooting. Do you want to grow in the use of the camera or only need point and shoot.
I shoot any type of picture actually, people, views, anything that I find interesting...

I'm not a pro in the use of camera if this is what you're asking. But of course would like to learn more in the usage of digicam, still it's more towards hobby though.

So, any suggestion on the provided options?

Rgds,
Old Oct 13, 2003, 12:52 PM   #4

Of the three I choose the PowerShot A70, which I almost bought. I ended up having an Olympus C-740 UltraZoom and am very pleased with it.
DarkThrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2003, 5:12 PM   #5

I would look at a camera similar to the Olympus C740. It has both good auto modes and good excellent manual settings. The 10X zoom provides excellent opportunties for bringing objects close. The Oly 740 is very good for outdoor shooting or with the flash but lacks low light shooting. The Oly c4040 or C5050 has only a 3X optical lens but is excellent for low light shooting. I own the c740 and c4040 which provide a wide variety of shooting opportunties.
Old Oct 15, 2003, 2:12 AM   #6

The reason Olympus is not on the list is that because the brand is not that common here, so after sales service might be a little problem I foresee.