Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 15, 2003, 9:11 PM   #1

Default Backpacking through Europe...what 10x zoom digital?

I am taking off in early December for a 3 month backpacking trip through Europe and was planning on purchasing a digital camera for the trip. I think I've decided to go w/ a 10x zoom camera but even after quite a bit of research I'm unsure what to choose.

I'm hoping to buy something around the $400 range (not much more than 450). Here are the cameras I'm looking at most seriously.

Minolta Dimage Z1; Olympus C-750

A few things I'm trying to take into consideration while attempting to make this decision.

1. Fewer sunlight hours b/c it's winter, so want a camera that can
handle this well.

2. Will be mostly taking shots outdoors (i.e. Eiffel tower, the
Trivy fountain, Venetian canals, etc.) but I imagine I'll have
a decent share of indoor shots as well (museums and
churches).

3. I am a true photography novice so I want something that will
take some decent pictures without my needing to do
anything too fancy, but at the same time I'm open to
learning how to use the camera's controls to take better
pictures (I have three months while backpacking to learn
how to make the camera work for me).

4. Looking at 3 megapix cameras since I won't plan on really enlarging much the few pictures I decide to print.

5. Good battery life...I want to make sure I don't find myself w/ dead batteries in the middle of the day while checking out the sites in a city.

6. Want to minimize bulk and weight since everything I take with me I'll be carrying on my back while I hop from city to city and hostel to hostel.

Anyways, I know these might sound like pretty generic things that probably most people look for in a camera....but if there are other things I should be considering let me know.