Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 14, 2008, 8:00 PM   #1

I just bit the bullet and no am the proud owner of a Canon 40d with Canon 18-135mm IS USM, and Canon 70-300mm IS USM.

I am looking for advice for shooting full field U-14 soccer (I have full access to the field), and shooting a cheerleading competition indoors.

What settings, lens, etc should I use. I am new to the DSLR arena so any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Big Texx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2008, 8:38 PM   #2

Others will chime in, I'm sure.

For soccer, you probably want your 70-300mm mounted.

The main thing is you need to keep your shutter speed at 1/500th or faster to freeze the action.

So if you want to be very simple about it, just shoot shutter priority 1/1000th and the action should be frozen.

If it's overcast you could change the ISO to 400. If it's sunny leave the ISO at 100.

For indoors, your going to be in a low light situation. You probably want your Canon 18-135 mounted because you'll be closer to the action.

If you want to be very simple about it, crank up the ISO to 1600 and shoot shutter priority 1/500th. At least you'll freeze the action. ISO1600 will help you cope with the low light of indoors.

Beyond that, you can try different stuff like aperture priority - different apertures to blur the background. The main thing is you don't want the athlete blurry so you have to keep the shutter speed pretty fast - 1/1000th for soccer and 1/500th for cheerleading.

good luck!

Terry
terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2008, 9:50 PM   #3

Soccer:
  • Use the 70-300 the 28-135 is way too short[/*]
  • Set camera to AV mode. [/*]
  • Set Aperture at 5.6 (max value for your lens), [/*]
  • Set ISO at 400.[/*]
  • Set WB to auto.[/*]
  • Set focus mode to AI-Servo[/*]
  • Set shooting mode to continuous[/*]
  • Select center focus point only[/*]
  • Kneel or sit[/*]