Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 26, 2003, 11:42 AM   #1

Default EOS300D or CoolPix 5700...comparable choice? (newbie quest.)

Forgive me this question, but being very much of a newbie on (digital) camera's, I wanna take it a step forward into the digital world of photography.

After long time of waiting, I want to buy a digital camera that gives me plenty of options to play around with. I'm still learning, but want a camera that will be ready for the future of my hobby....and be flexible to extend it buying extra lenses. I don't want to end up after 6 months thinking "damn.. wish I bought that other one).

I was thinking about buying the Coolpix 5700 for a long time, but with Canon's new 300D camera, I start doubting if the extra money would make it worthwile.

I know it's probably not a fair comparison, but can any of you help me out making the choice? What does the 300D provide over the coolpix?
chrisvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2003, 2:12 PM   #2

The 300D offers many things over the CP5700. The cp5700 offers a few things over the 300D.

But lets start with the basics. What type of pictures do you plan on taking? How much money do you want (or can you) spend? How much experience do you have (sounds like not a lot)?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2003, 2:52 PM   #3

thanks eric - yes, not that much experience; current camera (oldie I took over from family) is analogue, and I didn't buy additional lenses as I was planning to spend my money on a new digital camera first.

I'm an allround photographer at the moment, but tend to (and will continue to) focus mostly on portraits and (makro) still life shots of anything I run into.

Current camera I have is rather poor on landscape pictures - would prefer if my next digital camera can be expanded with a wide-angle lens.